The ICAS Book Prize

Due to the global events caused by COVID-19 we have decided to postpone the starting date for submissions to the ICAS Book Prize 2021, which was originally planend for 16 March 2020. Keep an eye on this website, our email updates and our social media pages. 
Find the English IBP Rules and Regulations here. For the other language editions the Rules and Regulations will follow soon.
Please do send an email to with any questions you may have, or if you would like to be informed directly when submissions become possible. 

About the ICAS Book Prize
The ICAS Book Prize (IBP) was established in 2003. It aims to create an international focus for academic publications on Asia, thus increasing their worldwide visibility. The biennial ICAS Book Prize is awarded for outstanding English-language works and dissertations on Asia, and has always been organised around broad interdisciplinary bases (Social Sciences and Humanities) rather than traditional geographic or disciplinary compartmentalisations.

The IBP now honours publications in Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese/Spanish and Russian.

The English and French editions also accept PhD dissertations for their 'Dissertation Prize'. 

Since its inception, the IBP has grown from an experiment with 50 books and 5 dissertations to a prestious prize with more than 750 publications and dissertations. In 2013, a new category of prizes was added: The Reading Committee Accolades. This gives the Reading Committees the opportunity to single out and give credit to more outstanding books and dissertations.


Paul van der Velde (IBP General Secretary)

ICAS is an initiative of the
International Insitute for Asian Studies